18 Nigeria states record mosquito resistance to insecticide nets


The Nigeria Institute of Medical Research (NIMR) Yaba, Lagos has revealed that 18 states in Nigeria now have mosquitoes that are resistant to insecticide nets. NAIJ.com gathered that the NIMR revealed this result after a recent study test conducted on mosquitoes in the affected states. Below is the list of the affected states: 1) Jigawa 2) Katsina 3) Kebbi 4) Sokoto 5) Zamfara 6) Benue 7) Kwara 8) Nasarawa 9) Niger 10) Plateau 11) Anambra 12) Enugu 13) Rivers 14) Lagos 15) Ogun 16) Ondo 17) Osun 18

According to Punch, Lagos, Ogun and Niger states recorded the highest mosquitoes with resistance to insecticide. Deputy Director & Head, Public Health Department, NIMR, Dr. Sam Awolola, said: “Most of the insecticide products used in malaria control are also being used in agricultural sector in Nigeria. This over-saturation is a major source of resistance.”